Galesburg Public Library

Digital Resources

Some digital content may be accessed from home or work, while some is accessible only from a public use computer in the library. Some content requires your library card number and PIN. Please also check out our eBooks that are available through ADML and eRead Illinois.

Ancestry Library Edition
Discover your family history, start your family tree, or search billions of genealogy records including census data, military records, and birth, death, and marriage records. Only accessible through the library’s database computers or on your own device at the library.

AtoZ Food America
AtoZ Food America offers recipes, ingredient lists, and a wealth of information on food from different regions of the United States. This is the place to go if you’re looking for new dinner recipes or want to hone your cooking skills. AtoZ Food America is accessible from all library computers and from your home if you login with your library card number.

Cypress Resume
Need help creating a new resume or updating an old one? Cypress Resume is an online resume builder that lets you create professional-quality resumes in three quick and simple steps.

Driving-Tests.org
This state-specific Driver Education program contains ten car practice tests, six motorcycle practice tests, one CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice test, two online driver’s manuals (car and motorcycle), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
With Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) you can browse, search and download eBook articles anytime from any Internet-connected device. Access reference materials on Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Nation and World, Religion, and Science. If you are prompted for a password, enter your library card number (include the D but do not include any spaces).

Illinois Legal Aid Online
Free legal advice, information, guidance and forms for Illinois residents. Just type in your question and go…

Lingo Lite
Learn a new language with Lingo Lite. Find vocabulary and pronunciation lessons in over 30 languages! Lingo Lite is accessible from all library computers and from your home if you login with your library card number.

Literature Criticism Online
Contemporary Literary Criticism database contains excerpts from criticism of the works of today’s novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters and other creative writers. If you are prompted for a password, enter your library card number (include the D but do not include any spaces).

Click here to access the current year’s issues of the Galesburg Register-Mail. You may be prompted to enter your library card number.

Click here to access historical issues of the Galesburg Register-Mail from 1958-2008. These issues are available on a trial basis until November 2021. If you enjoy this resource, please consider donating here to help us keep access permanently.

The library archives includes more than 12,000 negatives and prints. A selection of those images has been uploaded to the archives Flickr account, here. For more information about the photographs in the archives, visit the Using the Archives page.

Salem Press
Access to resources from Salem Press, including 50 States, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Careers in Healthcare, Careers in Communications and Media, Careers in Environment & Conservation, Careers in Human Services, Contemporary Biographies in Hospitality and Tourism, the nine-volume Countries, Peoples, and Cultures, and the Decades series, 1920-1970. If prompted to log in, use your library card bar code number. The D must be capitalized.